Steering Committee

Amy Carrington, President

Amy Carrington is the Director of Leadership Development at Commerce Lexington, Inc. Originally from Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, Amy graduated from Samford University in Birmingham, Alabama and completed her Master’s degree in Community and Leadership Development at the University of Kentucky. In October 2013, Lexington Young Professionals Association named Amy as one of the year’s Rising Stars.  She enjoys travel, the arts, reading and giving back to the community through her involvement in various organizations around Lexington. Amy joined the Reading Camp board in 2014.

Rt. Rev. Douglas Hahn

The Rt. Rev Douglas Hahn was elected seventh bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Lexington on August 2012.  He holds a doctorate in pastoral leadership from the University of the South, MDiv from Southern Baptist Theological and a BA in History from the University of Georgia. Bishop Hahn has a heart for Reading Camp because he comes from a long line of teachers and embraces service to the community. He has been in ministry since 1978, and he and his wife Kaye have three adult children. He has served as an ex-officio Reading Camp board member since 2012.

JeanEllen Hiter Melton

Advisor, Bluegrass Community & Technical College


Meg Phillips

Chief Risk Officer, Community Action Council

Danielle Howe

Engineer, Toyota Motor Manufacturing


Dr. Amy Maupin

Associate Professor of Education, Transylvania University


 Ms. Shirley Riley

Donnie Niehaus

Attorney, Ward, Hocker, and Thornton

Laura Adkisson

Children’s Librarian, Harlan County Public Library

The Rev. Chana Tetzlaff

Priest in Charge, Emmanuel Episcopal Church